Media, Darling: Danielle Meder

Danielle Meder graduated from Ryerson University’s School of Fashion in 2006. She is an award-winning design student whose graduating collection was featured in Holt Renfrew’s storefront windows. She has won prestigious design competitions sponsored by Zellers and Dr. Martens. She is a successful fashion blogger, developing a unique voice in Canadian fashion media since 2006. Meder is a professional fashion illustrator who has created editorial illustrations for the National Post and The Globe and Mail, and has also been featured in FLARE magazine.



Website: Finalfashion.ca
Twitter: @finalfashion


How can someone grab your attention with a pitch?
Basics: address me by name, contact me for a good reason, and make sure the pitch is a good fit for my site. Bonus: offer me something desirable – I love clothes and event invitations, and I especially adore the chance to meet interesting people in their working environments. The ultimate: match my services with your clients, offer me a gig or a chance to collaborate on something awesome, give me the chance to create original content for my site that no one else will have.


What do you find most useful when dealing with public relations professionals?
It’s a people business. Let’s talk like people talk, one on one. I like PR pros who think like entrepreneurs, are always looking for opportunities, who are genuine social connectors, and who are just as interested in investing energy into my blog as they are in their client’s businesses. It’s not just about links and hits. Great original content is good for everybody, everybody grows, everybody wins.


What is the biggest mistake PR professionals make?
I think it’s the same mistake that bloggers (and even clients) make — getting sidetracked, focusing on the tools instead of the work. Boilerplates, templates and email lists, hits, platforms, widgets, whatever. In the online world, it’s too easy to let the numbers distract you or discourage you. Ultimately, good, real work is about love. Love of creativity, love of expression, discovering who you are, asking for what you want, making your dreams come true, meeting the people who inspire you and light a fire under you, creating a career and a life you are proud of.


Your pet peeve
Being overlooked or ignored by the PR of a brand that I am a fan of and support. There’s nothing quite as crushing as being snubbed when you are only too eager to be a willing advocate of a brand, and go above and beyond. It’s easy in this day and age, with Google and other search engines, to suss out who the real superfans are, and I think they deserve (at least) acknowledgement, ideally gratitude, and ultimately a sense of alliance. Anything less than that is profoundly alienating in a way that really goes beyond just a “pet peeve”.


Any other thoughts you’d like to add?
I am so grateful that so many of the PR people in Toronto have been supportive of my little site long before blogging became a big deal. It is thanks to their generosity that I was introduced to the way the media industry works, and several individual publicists have helped me score amazing clients, cool projects, and significantly raised my profile as an illustrator and blogger. You all know who you are. Big, heartfelt thank you to the hard-working PR pros who’ve helped me along the way.

One thought on “Media, Darling: Danielle Meder

  1. w00t! Great interview, Danielle. You've been such an inspiration for me on my own blogging trip, and I can't thank you enough for being such a great Blog Godmother. ❤

Leave a Reply

