Media, Darling: Natalie Deane

A producer at Entertainment Tonight Canada since 2005, Natalie Deane has interviewed countless celebrities including William Shatner, Gene Simmons, Drake, Kim Cattrall, Shania Twain, Jon Bon Jovi and Justin Bieber. She has also covered the Grammy’s, the JUNO’s and many other celebrity red carpets.

Deane got her start on Roger’s First Local as an entertainment anchor and news reporter covering local news, entertainment and sports events. From there, she moved on to Toronto 1’s Toronto Tonight as a news producer working on daily news stories. She was also a lifestyle producer on The Source, and has
developed a reputation for meticulous quality and impactful segments and shows. 

A strong believer in giving back, Deane has been involved in many charities and charitable events including Big Brothers Big Sisters, Hospital for Sick Kids, Starlight Foundation and Boobyball, to name a few.

As a supporter of charity and art events across the city, she is often cited on well-dressed lists for her outgoing personality and charming style.
   
Did you always want to be in the media? If not, what other careers were on the horizon?
Before entering the media, I lived in Japan and worked for a private English company called GEOS for five years. I was a teacher/trainer/manager. It was a wonderful experience learning a new culture, traveling all over Asia and teaching.

Where would you like to be five years from now?
I’m really happy where I am, it works for me now. In five years I hope I’m still doing something that puts a smile on my face everyday.

Any advice for people getting started in your industry?
Like most people in the media, I started off as an intern and was then hired on before the end of my internship. When you have the chance to do an internship somewhere, treat it like a job, not another class at school. Get in 20 minutes early, work hard and show them what you’ve got. It’s an audition for your future.

What are your favourite media outlets, not including your own?
I LOVE television and watch it all day. I read newspapers, visit blogs and online mags as part of my job and because I really enjoy pop culture. I can’t really say I have a favourite, as I see good things in all of them. We have come so far in communication and it’s amazing!

Best interview you’ve ever had? Worst?
There are so many good interviews! Some of my faves have to be the nostalgic ones. It’s incredible to meet and speak with people you admired in your youth: Corey Hart, Jordan Knight, William Shatner, Smokey Robinson and Nikki Sixx. I’m still waiting for my Duran Duran interview….

Best advice you’ve ever been given?
“Don’t Worry Be Happy” – Cool Runnings

What rule(s) do you live your life by?
Don’t sweat the small stuff.
Look at the big picture.
Live, Laugh and Love.

What’s the most important tip you can give PR pros?
When pitching, think about the content and how it would best fit with that specific media outlet. Think of the story idea, don’t just bring us the content. Be honest. I know you have to hype your product, but don’t tell me something that isn’t true. Build relationships.

Best experience you’ve had with a PR pro? We love to hear about #wins.
I’ve had lots of good ones, especially with rock-it promotions. I can’t think of a bad one!

I hate?
Mean people.

I love?
My family and friends. Chocolate, cheese, butter, wine and a vodka soda with lime.

Reading?
All the time. Currenly reading Girl with the Dragon Tattoo.

Best place on earth?
Anywhere my heart is.

Dinner guest?
Dinner Party!

Hero?
Too many to list. But generally, anyone who stands up for good.

Favourite app?
I’m still in love with BBM.

Pool or ocean?
OCEAN!

Voicemail or email?
Email.

Leave a Reply

