Media, Darling: Tyler Franch

Tyler Franch is the Assistant Fashion Editor at Chatelaine. Prior to this he lived in London where worked as a style advisor and creative associate for Topshop/Topman. Although he grew up in the east end of Toronto, Tyler considers himself a west end boy as he has lived there for years. He is at his best while cycling the city, having eats and drinks with friends or
hanging out in the grass with some good reading material.



Twitter: @tylerfranch

Did you always want to be in the media? If not, what other careers were on the horizon?
 
I’ve always loved fashion and beauty. Working as an editor turned out to be the perfect fix for my style addiction.



Where would you like to be five years from now?  

Anywhere and everywhere! As long as I can keep my integrity, I’ll be happy.

Any advice for people getting started in your industry? 
   
Internships are the best way to get noticed in this industry. Nothing shows more dedication, passion, loyalty and skill set than working for free AND DOING IT WELL!


What are your favourite media outlets, not including your own? (i.e.: what do you read/listen/watch?) 
Vanity Fair and almost any British fashion publication.

Best advice you’ve ever been given?
 
Possibly the importance of a first impression. Something everyone should work on down to the handshake.

What rule(s) do you live your life by?
 
I’m not one for rules. I do care a lot about manners. Please and thank-you go a long way with me.

What’s the most important tip you can give PR pros?
 
Have fun with it. We aren’t saving lives here.

Best experience you’ve had with a PR pro? We love to hear about #wins.
 
Anyone who has taken the time to get to know me and understand what I’m trying to do. It’s all about the communication. We are practically all in relationships.

I hate?

When people don’t cut the vents open on the back of their jackets.


I love?

Whoever is styling One Direction.


Reading?

Two words – Hunger Games.

Best place on earth?

My friend’s cottage in Nova Scotia.


Dinner guest?

Gucci Westman or Guido.


Hero?

Mom, of course.


Pool or ocean?

Ocean.


Voicemail or email?

Email. Who has the patience to always check voicemail? If the question were “Phone or Email ?”- my answer would be phone.


Leave a Reply

